Structure des documents texte

From Apache OpenOffice Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
doc OOo


Book.png

Un document texte peut contenir quatre types d'informations :

  • le texte proprement dit ;
  • des modèles de formatage des caractères, des paragraphes et des pages ;
  • des éléments non textuels tels que des tableaux, des images et des objets de dessin ;
  • des paramètres globaux pour le document texte.

Cette section est dédiée au texte et aux options de formatage associées.

Paragraphes et portions de paragraphe

La partie essentielle d'un document texte est constituée d'une suite de paragraphes. Ceux-ci n'étant ni nommés ni indexés, il est impossible d'accéder directement à l'un d'eux. Vous pouvez néanmoins les parcourir de manière séquentielle à l'aide de l'objet Enumeration décrit au chapitre Introduction à l'API. Cela permet d'éditer les paragraphes.

Lorsque vous utilisez l'objet Enumeration, il faut néanmoins prendre en compte une particularité : il ne retourne pas uniquement les paragraphes, mais également les tableaux (à strictement parler, dans OpenOffice.org Writer, un tableau est un type spécial de paragraphe). C'est pourquoi, avant d'accéder à un objet retourné, vous devez vérifier qu'il prend en charge le service com.sun.star.text.Paragraph (s'il s'agit d'un paragraphe) ou le service com.sun.star.text.TextTable (s'il s'agit d'un tableau).

L'exemple suivant parcourt le contenu d'un document texte dans une boucle et utilise un message dans chaque cas pour indiquer à l'utilisateur si l'objet en question est un paragraphe ou un tableau.

Dim Doc As Object
Dim Enum As Object
Dim TextElement As Object
 
' Create document object   
Doc = StarDesktop.CurrentComponent
' Create enumeration object 
Enum = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
' loop over all text elements
 
While Enum.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum.nextElement
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.TextTable") Then
    MsgBox "The current block contains a table."
  End If
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    MsgBox "The current block contains a paragraph."
  End If
 
Wend

Cet exemple crée un objet Document Doc qui référence le document OpenOffice.org actif. L'objet Doc est ensuite utilisé pour créer un objet Enumeration qui parcourt chaque partie du texte (paragraphes et tableaux) et assigne l'élément actif à l'objet TextElement. La méthode supportsService détermine si TextElement est un paragraphe ou un tableau.

Paragraphes

Le service com.sun.star.text.Paragraph permet d'accéder au contenu d'un paragraphe. Le texte du paragraphe peut être extrait et modifié à l'aide de la propriété String :

Dim Doc As Object
Dim Enum As Object
Dim TextElement As Object
 
Doc = StarDesktop.CurrentComponent
Enum = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
 
While Enum.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum.nextElement
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    TextElement.String = Replace(TextElement.String, "you", "U") 
    TextElement.String = Replace(TextElement.String, "too", "2")
    TextElement.String = Replace(TextElement.String, "for", "4") 
  End If
 
Wend

Cet exemple ouvre le document texte actif et le parcourt à l'aide de l'objet Enumeration. Il utilise la propriété TextElement.String dans tous les paragraphes pour accéder aux paragraphes concernés et remplace les chaînes you, too and for par les caractères U, 2 and 4. La fonction Replace utilisée pour la substitution n'entre pas dans le domaine linguistique standard de OpenOffice.org Basic. Il s'agit d'une nouvelle utilisation de la fonction d'exemple décrite à la section Recherche et remplacement.

Documentation note.png La procédure d'accès aux paragraphes d'un texte qui est décrite ici est comparable à la liste Paragraphs disponible dans les objets Range et Document de VBA. Cependant, contrairement à VBA où les paragraphes sont accessibles par leur indice (via l'appel Paragraph(1), par exemple), dans OpenOffice.org Basic, il est nécessaire d'utiliser l'objet Enumeration décrit ci-dessus.

OpenOffice.org Basic ne présente aucun équivalent des listes Characters, Sentences et Words fournies dans VBA. En revanche, vous pouvez utiliser un objet TextCursor permettant la navigation à l'échelle des caractères, des phrases et des mots.

Portions de paragraphe

L'exemple précédent peut effectuer les substitutions souhaitées dans le texte, mais il peut également détruire le formatage.

En effet, un paragraphe est constitué de sous-objets individuels. Chacun de ces sous-objets contient ses propres informations de formatage. Par exemple, si un paragraphe contient en son milieu un mot en gras, il est représenté dans OpenOffice.org par trois portions de paragraphe : la portion précédant le mot en gras, le mot en gras lui-même et la portion située après, définie de nouveau comme normale.

Si le texte du paragraphe est modifié à l'aide de la propriété String du paragraphe, OpenOffice.org commence par supprimer les anciennes portions du paragraphe et en insère une nouvelle. Le formatage des sections précédentes est alors perdu.

Pour éviter cela, l'utilisateur peut accéder aux portions concernées du paragraphe au lieu du paragraphe entier. C'est pourquoi les paragraphes comportent leur propre objet Enumeration. Dans l'exemple suivant, une double boucle parcourt tous les paragraphes d'un document texte et les portions de paragraphes qu'ils contiennent, puis applique les remplacements de l'exemple précédent :

Dim Doc As Object
Dim Enum1 As Object
Dim Enum2 As Object
Dim TextElement As Object
Dim TextPortion As Object
 
Doc = StarDesktop.CurrentComponent
Enum1 = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
 
' loop over all paragraphs
While Enum1.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum1.nextElement
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    Enum2 = TextElement.createEnumeration
    ' loop over all sub-paragraphs 
 
    While Enum2.hasMoreElements
      TextPortion = Enum2.nextElement
      MsgBox "'" & TextPortion.String & "'"
      TextPortion.String = Replace(TextPortion.String, "you", "U") 
      TextPortion.String = Replace(TextPortion.String, "too", "2")
      TextPortion.String = Replace(TextPortion.String, "for", "4") 
    Wend
 
  End If
Wend

L'exemple parcourt un document texte par une double boucle. La boucle externe se rapporte aux paragraphes du texte. La boucle interne traite les portions de paragraphe à l'intérieur de ces paragraphes. Le contenu de chacune de ces portions de paragraphe est modifié à l'aide de la propriété String de la chaîne, comme l'exemple précédent le faisait pour les paragraphes. Toutefois, les portions de paragraphe étant modifiées directement, leur formatage est conservé lors du remplacement de la chaîne.

Formatage

Le texte peut être formaté de différentes façons. La manière la plus simple consiste à assigner les propriétés de format directement à la séquence de texte. On parle dans ce cas de formatage direct. Le formatage direct est particulièrement utilisé dans les documents courts, car les formats peuvent être assignés par l'utilisateur à l'aide de la souris. Vous pouvez, par exemple, mettre en valeur un mot à l'intérieur du texte en le mettant en gras ou centrer une ligne.

Outre le formatage direct, il est également possible de formater le texte à l'aide de modèles. On parle alors de formatage indirect. Avec le formatage indirect, l'utilisateur assigne un modèle prédéfini à la portion de texte concernée. Si la présentation du texte est modifiée par la suite, il suffit à l'utilisateur de modifier le modèle. OpenOffice.org modifie alors la manière dont toutes les portions de texte utilisant ce modèle sont représentées.

Documentation note.png Dans VBA, les propriétés de formatage d'un objet se répartissent généralement sur toute une gamme de sous-objets (Range.Font, Range.Borders, Range.Shading, Range.ParagraphFormat, par exemple). On accède à ces propriétés par des expressions en cascade (Range.Font.AllCaps, par exemple). Dans OpenOffice.org Basic, en revanche, les propriétés de formatage sont accessibles directement, à l'aide des objets concernés (TextCursor, Paragraph, etc.). Les propriétés de caractère et de paragraphe disponibles dans OpenOffice.org sont présentées dans les deux sections suivantes.
Documentation note.png Les propriétés de formatage figurent dans chaque objet (Paragraph, TextCursor, etc.) et peuvent être appliquées directement.

Propriétés de caractère

Les propriétés de format relatives à un caractère sont décrites comme propriétés de caractère. Elles comprennent notamment le type de gras et le type de police. Les objets permettant de définir des propriétés de caractère doivent prendre en charge le service com.sun.star.style.CharacterProperties. OpenOffice.org reconnaît une gamme étendue de services prenant en charge ce service. C'est le cas des services com.sun.star.text.Paragraph (pour les paragraphes) et com.sun.star.text.TextPortion (pour les portions de paragraphes) décrits précédemment.

Le service com.sun.star.style.CharacterProperties ne fournit aucune interface, mais une gamme de propriétés permettant de définir et d'appeler des propriétés de caractère. La liste complète des propriétés de caractère est disponible dans la référence de l'API OpenOffice.org. Les plus importantes sont répertoriées ci-dessous :

CharFontName (String)
nom du type de police sélectionné.
CharColor (Long)
couleur du texte.
CharHeight (Float)
hauteur des caractères en points (pt).
CharUnderline (Constant group)
type de soulignage (constantes correspondant à com.sun.star.awt.FontUnderline).
CharWeight (Constant group)
graisse de police (constantes correspondant à com.sun.star.awt.FontWeight).
CharBackColor (Long)
couleur d'arrière-plan.
CharKeepTogether (Boolean)
suppression des retours à la ligne automatiques.
CharStyleName (String)
nom du modèle de caractère.

Propriétés de paragraphe

Les informations de formatage qui ne se rapportent pas à des caractères individuels, mais à un paragraphe entier, sont considérées comme des propriétés de paragraphe. Cela inclut les interlignes et la distance entre le paragraphe et le bord de la page. Les propriétés de paragraphe sont accessibles via le service com.sun.star.style.ParagraphProperties.

Même les propriétés de paragraphe sont disponibles dans divers objets. Tous les objets prenant en charge le service com.sun.star.text.Paragraph prennent également en charge les propriétés de paragraphe dans com.sun.star.style.ParagraphProperties.

La liste complète des propriétés de paragraphe est disponible dans la référence de l'API OpenOffice.org. Les plus courantes sont les suivantes :

ParaAdjust (enum)
orientation verticale du texte (constantes correspondant à com.sun.star.style.ParagraphAdjust).
ParaLineSpacing (struct)
interligne (structure correspondant à com.sun.star.style.LineSpacing).
ParaBackColor (Long)
couleur d'arrière-plan.
ParaLeftMargin (Long)
marge gauche en centièmes de millimètre.
ParaRightMargin (Long)
marge droite en centièmes de millimètre.
ParaTopMargin (Long)
marge supérieure en centièmes de millimètre.
ParaBottomMargin (Long)
marge inférieure en centièmes de millimètre.
ParaTabStops (Array of struct)
type et position des tabulations (tableau de structures du type com.sun.star.style.TabStop).
ParaStyleName (String)
nom du modèle de paragraphe.

Exemple : export HTML simple

L'exemple suivant illustre la manipulation des informations de formatage. Il procède par itérations à l'intérieur d'un document texte et crée un fichier HTML simple. Dans ce but, chaque paragraphe est enregistré dans son propre élément HTML <P>. Les portions de paragraphe affichées en gras sont marquées à l'aide d'un élément HTML <B> lors de leur export.

Dim FileNo As Integer, Filename As String, CurLine As String
Dim Doc As Object   
Dim Enum1 As Object, Enum2 As Object
Dim TextElement As Object, TextPortion As Object
 
Filename = "c:\text.html"
FileNo = Freefile
Open Filename For Output As #FileNo   
Print #FileNo, "<HTML><BODY>"
Doc = StarDesktop.CurrentComponent
Enum1 = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
 
' loop over all paragraphs
While Enum1.hasMoreElements
 TextElement = Enum1.nextElement
 
 If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
   Enum2 = TextElement.createEnumeration
   CurLine = "<P>"
 
    ' loop over all paragraph portions
   While Enum2.hasMoreElements
     TextPortion = Enum2.nextElement
 
     If TextPortion.CharWeight = com.sun.star.awt.FontWeight.BOLD THEN
       CurLine = CurLine & "<B>" & TextPortion.String & "</B>"
      Else
        CurLine = CurLine & TextPortion.String
      End If
 
     Wend
 
    ' output the line
     CurLine = CurLine & "</P>"
     Print #FileNo, CurLine
   End If
 
 Wend
 
' write HTML footer 
Print #FileNo, "</BODY></HTML>"
Close #FileNo

La structure de base de cet exemple reprend celle des exemples parcourant les portions de paragraphe d'un texte, présentés plus haut. Les fonctions d'écriture du fichier HTML, ainsi qu'un bloc de test vérifiant la graisse des portions de texte correspondantes et mettant en gras des portions de paragraphe à l'aide d'une balise HTML correspondante, ont été ajoutées.

Valeurs par défaut des propriétés de caractère et de paragraphe

Le formatage direct est toujours prioritaire sur le formatage indirect. Autrement dit, une priorité inférieure est attribuée au formatage à l'aide de modèles par rapport au formatage direct dans un texte.

Il n'est pas facile d'établir si une section d'un document a été formatée directement ou indirectement. Les barres de symboles fournies par OpenOffice.org affichent les propriétés de texte courantes telles que le type de police, la graisse et la taille. Toutefois, elles n'indiquent pas si ces propriétés ont été définies par un modèle ou directement dans le texte.

Dans OpenOffice.org Basic, la méthode getPropertyState permet aux programmeurs de vérifier le formatage d'une propriété. Elle prend le nom de la propriété en paramètre et retourne une constante indiquant l'origine du formatage. Les réponses suivantes, définies dans l'énumération com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState , sont possibles :

com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState.DIRECT_VALUE
la propriété est définie directement dans le texte (formatage direct).
com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState.DEFAULT_VALUE
la propriété est définie par un modèle (formatage indirect).
com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState.AMBIGUOUS_VALUE
la propriété est ambiguë. Cet état apparaît, par exemple, lorsque la méthode interroge la propriété graisse d'un paragraphe dont certains mots sont en gras et d'autres non.

L'exemple suivant illustre l'édition des propriétés de format dans OpenOffice.org. Il recherche dans un texte les portions de paragraphe qui ont été définies en gras par formatage direct. S'il en trouve une, il supprime le formatage direct à l'aide de la méthode setPropertyToDefault et assigne un modèle de caractère MyBold à la portion de paragraphe.

Dim Doc As Object
Dim Enum1 As Object
Dim Enum2 As Object
Dim TextElement As Object
Dim TextPortion As Object
 
Doc = StarDesktop.CurrentComponent
Enum1 = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
 
' loop over all paragraphs
While Enum1.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum1.nextElement
 
 If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    Enum2 = TextElement.createEnumeration
    ' loop over all paragraph portions
 
 While Enum2.hasMoreElements
      TextPortion = Enum2.nextElement
 
      If TextPortion.CharWeight = _
        com.sun.star.awt.FontWeight.BOLD AND _
        TextPortion.getPropertyState("CharWeight") = _
        com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState.DIRECT_VALUE Then
        TextPortion.setPropertyToDefault("CharWeight")
        TextPortion.CharStyleName = "MyBold" 
      End If
    Wend
  End If
Wend
Content on this page is licensed under the Public Documentation License (PDL).
Personal tools

12 April 2014: The OpenOffice Wiki is not, and never was, affected by the heartbleed bug. Users' passwords are safe and wiki users do not need take any actions.

The Structure of Text Documents

From Apache OpenOffice Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


A text document can essentially contain four types of information:

  • The actual text
  • Templates for formatting characters, paragraphs, and pages
  • Non-text elements such as tables, graphics and drawing objects
  • Global settings for the text document

This section concentrates on the text and associated formatting options.

Paragraphs and Paragraph Portions

The core of a text document consists of a sequence of paragraphs. These are neither named nor indexed and there is therefore no possible way of directly accessing individual paragraphs. The paragraphs can however be sequentially traversed with the help of the Enumeration object described in Introduction to the API. This allows the paragraphs to be edited.

When working with the Enumeration object, one special scenario should, however, be noted: it not only returns paragraphs, but also tables (strictly speaking, in OpenOffice.org Writer, a table is a special type of paragraph). Before accessing a returned object, you should therefore check whether the returned object supports the com.sun.star.text.Paragraph service for paragraphs or the com.sun.star.text.TextTable service for tables.

The following example traverses the contents of a text document in a loop and uses a message in each instance to inform the user whether the object in question is a paragraph or table.

Dim Doc As Object
Dim Enum As Object
Dim TextElement As Object
 
' Create document object   
Doc = ThisComponent
' Create enumeration object 
Enum = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
' loop over all text elements
 
While Enum.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum.nextElement
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.TextTable") Then
    MsgBox "The current block contains a table."
  End If
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    MsgBox "The current block contains a paragraph."
  End If
 
Wend

The example creates a Doc document object which references the current OpenOffice.org document. With the aid of Doc, the example then creates an Enumeration object that traverses through the individual parts of the text (paragraphs and tables) and assigns the current element to TextElement object. The example uses the supportsService method to check whether the TextElement is a paragraph or a table.

Paragraphs

The com.sun.star.text.Paragraph service grants access to the content of a paragraph. The text in the paragraph can be retrieved and modified using the String property:

Dim Doc As Object
Dim Enum As Object
Dim TextElement As Object
 
Doc = ThisComponent
Enum = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
 
While Enum.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum.nextElement
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    TextElement.String = Replace(TextElement.String, "you", "U") 
    TextElement.String = Replace(TextElement.String, "too", "2")
    TextElement.String = Replace(TextElement.String, "for", "4") 
  End If
 
Wend

The example opens the current text document and passes through it with the help of the Enumeration object. It uses the TextElement.String property in all paragraphs to access the relevant paragraphs and replaces the you, too and for strings with the U, 2 and 4 characters. The Replace function used for replacing does not fall within the standard linguistic scope of OpenOffice.org Basic. This is an instance of the example function described in Search and Replace.

Documentation note.png VBA : The content of the procedure described here for accessing the paragraphs of a text is comparable with the Paragraphs listing used in VBA, which is provided in the Range and Document objects available there. Whereas in VBA the paragraphs are accessed by their number (for example, by the Paragraph(1) call), in OpenOffice.org Basic, the Enumeration object described previously should be used.


There is no direct counterpart in OpenOffice.org Basic for the Characters, Sentences and Words lists provided in VBA. You do, however, have the option of switching to a TextCursor which allows for navigation at the level of characters, sentences and words.

Paragraph Portions

The previous example may change the text as requested, but it may sometimes also destroy the formatting.

This is because a paragraph in turn consists of individual sub-objects. Each of these sub-objects contains its own formatting information. If the center of a paragraph, for example, contains a word printed in bold, then it will be represented in OpenOffice.org by three paragraph portions: the portion before the bold type, then the word in bold, and finally the portion after the bold type, which is again depicted as normal.

If the text of the paragraph is now changed using the paragraph's String property, then OpenOffice.org first deletes the old paragraph portions and inserts a new paragraph portion. The formatting of the previous sections is then lost.

To prevent this effect, the user can access the associated paragraph portions rather than the entire paragraph. Paragraphs provide their own Enumeration object for this purpose. The following example shows a double loop which passes over all paragraphs of a text document and the paragraph portions they contain and applies the replacement processes from the previous example:

Dim Doc As Object
Dim Enum1 As Object
Dim Enum2 As Object
Dim TextElement As Object
Dim TextPortion As Object
 
Doc = ThisComponent
Enum1 = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
 
' loop over all paragraphs
While Enum1.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum1.nextElement
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    Enum2 = TextElement.createEnumeration
    ' loop over all sub-paragraphs 
 
    While Enum2.hasMoreElements
      TextPortion = Enum2.nextElement
      MsgBox "'" & TextPortion.String & "'"
      TextPortion.String = Replace(TextPortion.String, "you", "U") 
      TextPortion.String = Replace(TextPortion.String, "too", "2")
      TextPortion.String = Replace(TextPortion.String, "for", "4") 
    Wend
 
  End If
Wend

The example runs through a text document in a double loop. The outer loop refers to the paragraphs of the text. The inner loop processes the paragraph portions in these paragraphs. The example code modifies the content in each of these paragraph portions using the String property of the string. as is the case in the previous example for paragraphs. Since however, the paragraph portions are edited directly, their formatting information is retained when replacing the string.

Formatting

There are various ways of formatting text. The easiest way is to assign the format properties directly to the text sequence. This is called direct formatting. Direct formatting is used in particular with short documents because the formats can be assigned by the user with the mouse. You can, for example, highlight a certain word within a text using bold type or center a line.

In addition to direct formatting, you can also format text using templates. This is called indirect formatting. With indirect formatting, the user assigns a pre-defined template to the relevant text portion. If the layout of the text is changed at a later date, the user only needs to change the template. OpenOffice.org then changes the way in which all text portions which use this template are depicted.

Documentation note.png VBA : In VBA, the formatting properties of an object are usually spread over a range of sub-objects (for example, Range.Font, Range.Borders, Range.Shading, Range.ParagraphFormat). The properties are accessed by means of cascading expressions (for example, Range.Font.AllCaps). In OpenOffice.org Basic, the formatting properties on the other hand are available directly, using the relevant objects (TextCursor, Paragraph, and so on). You will find an overview of the character and paragraph properties available in OpenOffice.org in the following two sections.


Documentation note.png The formatting properties can be found in each object (Paragraph, TextCursor, and so on) and can be applied directly.

Character Properties

Those format properties that refer to individual characters are described as character properties. These include bold type and the font type. Objects that allow character properties to be set have to support the com.sun.star.style.CharacterProperties service. OpenOffice.org recognizes a whole range of services that support this service. These include the previously described com.sun.star.text.Paragraph services for paragraphs as well as the com.sun.star.text.TextPortion services for paragraph portions.

The com.sun.star.style.CharacterProperties service does not provide any interfaces, but instead offers a range of properties through which character properties can be defined and called. A complete list of all character properties can be found in the OpenOffice.org API reference. The following list describes the most important properties:

CharFontName (String)
name of font type selected.
CharColor (Long)
text color.
CharHeight (Float)
character height in points (pt).
CharUnderline (Constant group)
type of underscore (constants in accordance with com.sun.star.awt.FontUnderline ).
CharWeight (Constant group)
font weight (constants in accordance with com.sun.star.awt.FontWeight).
CharBackColor (Long)
background color.
CharKeepTogether (Boolean)
suppression of automatic line break.
CharStyleName (String)
name of character template.

Paragraph Properties

Formatting information that does not refer to individual characters, but to the entire paragraph is considered to be a paragraph property. This includes the distance of the paragraph from the edge of the page as well as line spacing. The paragraph properties are available through the com.sun.star.style.ParagraphProperties service.

Even the paragraph properties are available in various objects. All objects that support the com.sun.star.text.Paragraph service also provide support for the paragraph properties in com.sun.star.style.ParagraphProperties.

A complete list of the paragraph properties can be found in the OpenOffice.org API reference. The most common paragraph properties are:

ParaAdjust (enum)
vertical text orientation (constants in accordance with com.sun.star.style.ParagraphAdjust ).
ParaLineSpacing (struct)
line spacing (structure in accordance with com.sun.star.style.LineSpacing).
ParaBackColor (Long)
background color.
ParaLeftMargin (Long)
left margin in 100ths of a millimeter.
ParaRightMargin (Long)
right margin in 100ths of a millimeter.
ParaTopMargin (Long)
top margin in 100ths of a millimeter.
ParaBottomMargin (Long)
bottom margin in 100ths of a millimeter.
ParaTabStops (Array of struct)
type and position of tabs (array with structures of the type com.sun.star.style.TabStop ).
ParaStyleName (String)
name of the paragraph template.

Example: simple HTML export

The following example demonstrates how to work with formatting information. It iterates through a text document and creates a simple HTML file. Each paragraph is recorded in its own HTML element <P> for this purpose. Paragraph portions displayed in bold type are marked using a <B> HTML element when exporting.

Dim FileNo As Integer, Filename As String, CurLine As String
Dim Doc As Object   
Dim Enum1 As Object, Enum2 As Object
Dim TextElement As Object, TextPortion As Object
 
Filename = "c:\text.html"
FileNo = Freefile
Open Filename For Output As #FileNo   
Print #FileNo, "<HTML><BODY>"
Doc = ThisComponent
Enum1 = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
 
' loop over all paragraphs
While Enum1.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum1.nextElement
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    Enum2 = TextElement.createEnumeration
    CurLine = "<P>"
 
    ' loop over all paragraph portions
    While Enum2.hasMoreElements
      TextPortion = Enum2.nextElement
 
      If TextPortion.CharWeight = com.sun.star.awt.FontWeight.BOLD THEN
        CurLine = CurLine & "<B>" & TextPortion.String & "</B>"
      Else
        CurLine = CurLine & TextPortion.String
      End If
 
    Wend
 
    ' output the line
    CurLine = CurLine & "</P>"
    Print #FileNo, CurLine
  End If
 
Wend
 
' write HTML footer 
Print #FileNo, "</BODY></HTML>"
Close #FileNo

The basic structure of the example is oriented towards the examples for running though the paragraph portions of a text already discussed previously. The functions for writing the HTML file, as well as a test code that checks the font weight of the corresponding text portions and provides paragraph portions in bold type with a corresponding HTML tag, have been added.

Default values for character and paragraph properties

Direct formatting always takes priority over indirect formatting. In other words, formatting using templates is assigned a lower priority than direct formatting in a text.

Establishing whether a section of a document has been directly or indirectly formatted is not easy. The symbol bars provided by OpenOffice.org show the common text properties such as font type, weight and size. However, whether the corresponding settings are based on template or direct formatting in the text is still unclear.

OpenOffice.org Basic provides the getPropertyState method, with which programmers can check how a certain property was formatted. As a parameter, this takes the name of the property and returns a constant that provides information about the origin of the formatting. The following responses, which are defined in the com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState enumeration, are possible:

com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState.DIRECT_VALUE
the property is defined directly in the text (direct formatting)
com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState.DEFAULT_VALUE
the property is defined by a template (indirect formatting)
com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState.AMBIGUOUS_VALUE
the property is unclear. This status arises, for example, when querying the bold type property of a paragraph, which includes both words depicted in bold and words depicted in normal font.

The following example shows how format properties can be edited in OpenOffice.org. It searches through a text for paragraph portions which have been depicted as bold type using direct formatting. If it encounters a corresponding paragraph portion, it deletes the direct formatting using the setPropertyToDefault method and assigns a MyBold character template to the corresponding paragraph portion.

Dim Doc As Object
Dim Enum1 As Object
Dim Enum2 As Object
Dim TextElement As Object
Dim TextPortion As Object
 
Doc = ThisComponent
Enum1 = Doc.Text.createEnumeration
 
' loop over all paragraphs
While Enum1.hasMoreElements
  TextElement = Enum1.nextElement
 
  If TextElement.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.Paragraph") Then
    Enum2 = TextElement.createEnumeration
    ' loop over all paragraph portions
 
    While Enum2.hasMoreElements
      TextPortion = Enum2.nextElement
 
      If TextPortion.CharWeight = _
        com.sun.star.awt.FontWeight.BOLD AND _
        TextPortion.getPropertyState("CharWeight") = _
        com.sun.star.beans.PropertyState.DIRECT_VALUE Then
          TextPortion.setPropertyToDefault("CharWeight")
          TextPortion.CharStyleName = "MyBold" 
      End If
    Wend
  End If
Wend


Content on this page is licensed under the Public Documentation License (PDL).
Personal tools