Installing Extensions for All or a Single User
When installing an extension, one has to decide if all possible users can use it (shared extension) or only oneself (user extension). In the first case, users cannot modify (enable, disable, remove) the extension unless they have write access to the share directory in the office installation.
A shared extension may change the appearance of the GUI (toolbars, menu bar, etc.) for all users. They can, however, configure their office so that particular menu or toolbar items are not shown. There is currently no way to centrally install an extension for particular user groups.
Whether an extension is to be installed for all users, or only for the single user, is determined during installation. The person performing the install must select, in the Extension Manager dialog, either My Extensions or OpenOffice.org Extensions before pressing the Add... button. In the first case, the extension will only be installed for the current user, whereas in the latter case it will be installed for all users.
When running unopkg in a windowless mode, the option --shared determines if an extension can be used by all users. For example:
[<OfficePath>/program] $ unopkg add --shared my_extension.oxt
would install my_extension so that it can be used by all users.
|Content on this page is licensed under the Public Documentation License (PDL).|