Please remove the "Temporary note" when the bug-fixed version of OpenOffice is out in January. The bug is reported here:
and in a couple of other places (duplicate reports) like for example here:
(This latter is filed by myself when I was not aware of the original report, i.e. Issue 92968).
Dwwwllwwwb 19:32, 9 December 2008 (CET)
Moved from the main page (the issue is resolved as promised):
Due to a bug in the later versions of OpenOffice, AutoRecovery in OpenOffice is broken now and will not recover your corrupted document. Instead, it replaces the back-up version (the automatically saved one which is the good one) with the corrupted document. It does not matter how short the intervals are set to. If for example you set the saving intervals to 1 minutes, the result will still be the loss of your last two hours of work if your system crashes when the last time you have manually saved your document was two hours ago if you allow it to recover your corrupted document.
Until the fix for the bug, Issue 92968, is available in the next stable release of OpenOffice, i.e. 3.0.1, here is how to manually recover after a crash:
Set up your AutoRecovery option as you like (3-5 minutes interval is reasonable). It regularly will save a backup of your document at the following location (if you have not changed the default location for backups) based on the time interval you have set for it. So far so good. However, when your application is crashed, do not let the application to recover your document when you are asked for, do not press "start recovery", and do not open any of OpenOffice application yet before you are done with the following step, or you will lose the back-up copy. Go to the following folder:
C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\OpenOffice.org\3\user\backup
In there, you will find the file that is saved during the interval set by the user with the same file name as the original document followed by "_0.odt". Copy it and paste it to the location where your original document (now corrupted) is located. The new document with the extra "_0.odt" at the end of its name will be your recovered document. You can change its name to what you prefer after removing "_0.odt" from the end of its name ("Hide extensions for known file types" has to be un-checked under "Control panel" > "Folder Options" > "View", otherwise you will not see the extensions such as .odt).
Dwwwllwwwb 06:37, 30 January 2009 (UTC)